Fox Professing
Home
Blog
FAQ
Academic Papers Opinion Columns Personal Essays Course Materials
Photos

 

 

About Dennis Fox

Who am I?

What am I up to?

Kid update 

Curriculum vita

Frequently Asked Questions

Additional personal hints...


Who am I?

Quickie Basics

Academic. Writer. Activist. Photographer.

When possible I combine my overlapping interests, but often I go off in different directions. In general I aim more for breadth - linking different things together - than for digging deeper and deeper into a narrower subject. I also have a related blog and photo site.

In 1998 I retired early from a job as professor of legal studies and psychology at the University of Illinois at Springfield (formerly called Sangamon State University, a much more interesting place). Much of my academic work addresses the interconnections among psychology, law, and justice. Using a perspective building on anarchism and critical psychology, I'm especially concerned about mainstream psychology's support for an unjust status quo. The second edition of my co-edited book Critical Psychology: An Introduction was published in 2009.

My academic credentials, complete publication details, and related information are listed in my curriculum vita (pdf file).


Formal Education

  • Public Schools, Brooklyn, NY
  • John Wilson Junior High School, Brooklyn, NY
  • Stuyvesant High School, New York, NY
  • Year-In-Israel Program, Jerusalem (college-level coursework during "Young Judaea Year Course")
  • Brooklyn College (BA psychology)
  • Michigan State University (MA & PhD social psychology)
  • Northeastern University (certificate, Emergency Medical Technician)
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln (post-doc in psychology and law)
  • Sangamon State University (photography coursework)

Jobs and Other Gigs

Longest job: 1988-2005, legal studies and psychology associate professor, University of Illinois at Springfield

Others: Folk dance instructor/performer (a very long time ago), camp counselor, high school equivalency instructor, Social Security claims representative, unemployment advocate, temp worker (clerical and other jobs), coder, messenger, embossing press operator (I really liked this one), emergency medical technician (ambulance attendant), editorial writer, teaching assistant, community college adjunct instructor, disability examiner, postdoc student, newspaper columnist, writer, photographer, webmaster, editor. Sometimes I get paid for my photography.


Political History demonstration

up to top


Miscellaneous Personal

I was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1949 and have lived most recently in Boston, Massachusetts. I've lived other places for school, jobs, politics, family, adventure:

  • 1949: In Brooklyn, I lived on Ocean Parkway, then Brownsville, then Canarsie
  • 1966-67: A year in Israel after high school
  • 1967-1970: Back in Brooklyn, for Brooklyn College
  • 1970s: East Lansing, Michigan (grad school at Michigan State, 1970-72); Israel again (kibbutz); Newburgh, NY; Boston (South End, Jamaica Plain, Allston); Somerville, Mass.; Red Hook, NY; Brooklyn again (Park Slope 1977-78); Los Angeles; Somerville again, for the 1979 Seabrook occupation attempt
  • 1980s: Atlanta; Somerville yet again; East Lansing one more time and then Lansing (back in grad school); Cambridge, Mass.; Lincoln, Nebraska (post-doc at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
  • 1988-1998: Springfield, Illinois (Sangamon State University/University of Illinois at Springfield)
  • Since 1998: back in Boston for the fifth time.
  • Fall 2009: In Toronto for the fall semester to teach a seminar at York University
  • 2010: back to Boston - in 2012-2013 in East Boston.
  • 2013 Fall: I'm wandering around the US and elsewhere. Perhaps someplace near you!

My early retirement resulted from disability-related fatigue. As these things go my multiple sclerosis is mild, not visible, and not progressing. Ironically, I used to work for the Social Security Administration's disability program; the paper I later wrote about the politics of subjective disability evaluation is the most-visited page on this website. So far I've only written briefly about my experience on the other side.

I have three children from two marriages -- a 20-something daughter and two sons 20 years older than that. And I have two granddaughters!

No longer married, I'm back in the world of ethical non-monogamy. The term polyamory applies generally to my evolving relationships even though there's no agreement about what the term means. My 2001 essay about being a married anarchist needs an update.

I used to be a vegetarian, for a variety of moral, nutritional, ecological, political, and financial reasons. They're all good reasons, but I'm no longer a vegetarian.

Someday I'd like to abandon the Internet. Not yet.

I remain in transition. Always.


up to top


What am I up to now?

Intermittent academic work. Writing. Politics (recent focus: Israel/Palestine and Occupy Boston). Exploring alternative cultures designed to help me learn alternative ways of being.

Photography (see interview). No photos allowed!

In September 2013 I left Boston to wander indefinitely. I continue to work on my various projects as best I can, though I'm planning to explore new directions along the way.


Kid Update

AvramAvram, his wife Rie, and my granddaughters Airi and Maaya are living in Yokohama, Japan. Their blog describes past travels and current explorations and impressions.

MiloMilo pursues a variety of creative pursuits while supporting himself in traditional struggling-artist fashion, now back in Florida. See his website.

Emily is studying creative hairdressing. You might find her on Facebook and similar places I hesitate to tread.


up to top

Home
Blog
personal/political observations
FAQ
Academic Papers Opinion Columns Personal Essays Course Materials
Photos
some political, most not

http://www.dennisfox.net

Contact

Page updated September 18, 2013